Tech Task#1

13 Jan

About Me:

My name is Melissa Horvath and I was born and raised in the small town of Raymore, Saskatchewan.  I lived with my parents, Mike and Gail, and my two older brothers, Justin and Dean.  We have two dogs, Candy and Peanut, who are 12 years old and 6 months old, respectively.  They provide a great deal of entertainment for my family!  My entire family (including my parents) attended Raymore School for our education.  My favourite school teacher inspired me to become a teacher when I was only 7 years old.  I continued to follow my dream of teaching, which lead me to the University of Regina.  I have grown in so many ways since beginning University and appreciate all that I have learned on my journey.  I am currently finishing my fourth year of Elementary Education and cannot wait to return to the classroom!  When I am not concentrating on my studies, I love to dance, read, go for walks, and spend time with friends and family.

Previous Experience with Technology

I have always been interested in technology, especially computers.  I received my first computer as a Christmas present when I was 12 years old.  Ever since then I have been using computers for multiple purposes, such as word processing, picture editing, social media, research, and simply exploration.  I have little training in computers, I learned how to operate most programs by “playing around” with different options.  In high school I took Information Processing and Computer Science and enjoyed both of the classes.  During my pre-internship and internship, I had my students use computers for a variety of activities.  My students were always excited to work with computers and I found the technology was beneficial in enhancing their learning.

Computers in the Classroom

I believe that computers can be very useful in the classroom in a variety of ways.  Computers can help to differentiate instruction, actively engage the learners, provide endless resources to teachers and students, and help students to develop technological skills that they can use later in their lives.  However, there are limitations with computers in the classroom.  The first thought that comes to my mind is the unreliability of technology.  Teachers must always have a “Plan B” when working with technology.  I had a few experiences in internship when the computers were not working and we were unable to complete an activity.  Also, many schools do not have access to an adequate amount of computers.  During my internship, the computers were always on high demand, and it was sometimes difficult to find them.

I am currently indecisive about my views on certain technologies, such as Facebook, Youtube or MySpace, in the classroom.   I have found some great educational videos on Youtube and believe that there is value in the website.  A teacher I recently worked with asked her students to figure out Pythagoras’ theorem simply by using Youtube.  She was amazed by how engaged they were in their learning.  However, I think teachers may have to ensure that their students are watching appropriate videos.   I have little experience with MySpace but do believe Facebook could have a place in the classroom.  Many students are on Facebook daily and I believe teachers could connect with their students in new ways.  Like Youtube, teachers need to make sure that all activity is appropriate, including their own.

Expectations of ECMP 355

Like any other course, I want the class to be relevant and useful in my future classroom.  I want to incorporate technology more in the classroom and I want my professor to share ways I can achieve this.  I want my professor to be patient when I am having difficulty understanding (this inevitably will happen) and to be passionate about his work.  This is all I am hoping for and I look forward to expanding my knowledge of computers.



One Response to “Tech Task#1”

  1. Alec Couros January 16, 2011 at 11:01 PM #

    Thanks for your description here. Appropriate content is certainly a topic we’ll tackle this semester.

    Thanks for coming along this journey – I look forward to connecting with you more this semester.

Leave a Reply

