Bird Child by Nan Forler

21 Feb

I have discovered a wonderful book that I wanted to share with all of you.  I am taking ELIB 216 with Barbara McNeil and one of my assignments is to do a critical examination of a picture book.  This is how I came across the book Bird Child by Nan Forler.  The first thing I noticed when I flipped through the book were the unique illustrations.  They looked as if they were painted but the faces of the people looked so lifelike.  I researched the type of media used to create the images and discovered that the pictures were painted and then photographs were digitally placed over their faces.  The result is very unique and could be a fun project to do with students.  The text was equally amazing and has a very powerful message.  The story is about a small “bird-like” girl who has the power of “flight” – she is able to look down at what is happening and then look up and see what can be.  She uses this power to help a new girl overcome bullying.  The book has a very powerful message and would be a great book to help teach about respect, responsibility and bullying.

I was very surprised to find out that Bird Child is Nan Forler’s first book. I hope she continues publishing books in the future.  There are so many books out there but finding high quality literature is very important; Forler’s work is definitely high quality. Also, Forler is a teacher who lives in Ontario.  I think it is important to use Canadian literature in the classroom, as well as books from many other countries and cultures.  If you are interested, you can find journal reviews of Bird Child here.
I encourage you to check out Forler’s book and please feel free to leave other book recommendations in the comments section. Thank you!

 

Leave a Reply

