Final Project Ideas

17 Feb

[Note: I had written this post on February 2, 2011.  However, I did not want to post it until I spoke to Alec about my ideas. I decided on a different project, which I will blog about soon.]


On Tuesday we discussed our Final Projects for the first time.  I began thinking about what I may want to do for my project.  I came up with a few ideas and decided I would share them.

Idea #1 – Barbie’s Impact on Gender Socialization

I have already completed some research about this topic when I wrote a paper in my second year.  I truly believe that Barbie has a very negative impact on both females and males.  I would like to continue this research and hear more about what others think about Barbie.

Idea #2 – Representation of Women in Media

I have been interested in the representation of women in media for awhile now.  I think that the messages that are being sent are detrimental to all members of society.  I believe that media should reflect the diversity of our population.  I could go on and on about the problems that are caused by images like this one.  This image not only sends negative messages but images like these are commonly used as thinspiration in many online “support” communities.  I encourage you to check it out.

Idea #3 – Hope’s Home Volunteer Experience

As part of an assignment for one of my classes I am supposed to volunteer at an organization that is related to Health.  I chose Hope’s Home because it seems like a wonderful environment to work with diverse children.  I would blog about my experience as well as create a project based on my experience.

I am still unsure how I want to create my final project and who knows if I’ll even stick with these ideas.  I’m glad I have a starting point and look forward to hearing about everyone else’s projects!


Leave a comment